Home

I looked at the negative sites so its about time to look at the positive public reaction.

I noticed that a lot of the support for refugees aren’t in big groups or large Facebook posts but rather small ordinary people sharing images such as this. They allow the pictures to do the talking for them. This is incredibly different to the negative side as they use groups to shout their opinion from the ‘roof tops’ and the positive side tend to stay more quite and don’t feel the need to shout.

6c9a7946ab8050f968a0cbc01aba044d14572180_1190014544392800_7612506164228689867_n

My favourite piece I found was just a simple plain text image:

80b8ef1a7e2268cd8ba80d6a98196444

I later found out that this is a poem called “Home” by Warsan Shire. I found the full version which can be found here HOME – Waren Shire. However instead of reading watch this video of her reading the poem, it is a lot more heartfelt and tragic. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ybTM-aaJxS0

I defiantly want to use this poem as part of my work.


 

Just like I have done before I headed to social media to see the pages that support the refugees. One of the biggest pages was Help Refugees who are a charity that help bring a better life to refugees.

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 00.35.51

Leave a Reply

