Home

Home by Warsan Shire

I mentioned this poem before. I really wanted to work with a different theme, rather than an image or artist research a poem isn’t something usually I’d base my work off.
The poem is alright quite popular within the refugee ‘community’ (I don’t know what to call all the supporters). It’s in papers, used at protests and used as online advertisements.

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 14.30.56.png

This poem is now the rallying call for refugees: “No one leaves home unless home is the mouth of a shark”

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 14.31.07.png


The part of the poem I will be focusing on for this ideas:

no one leaves home unless
home is the mouth of a shark

I’m not a great drawer so all of my work has a familiar theme, cartoony as realist isn’t my cup of tea. At first I was nervous because I hadn’t ever seen this type of style use for this subject. I hope that maybe because it modern and quite young in theme, it might be more appealing to the younger generation, the ones that will be bought up with the ‘refugee crisis’ as everyday life.

At first I research shark illustrations heres some of the ones that helped me:

I drew a shark with the mouth open so I could put an image of a house therefore matching the quote.

Shark

I later added the water splash behind the shark to add a bit of depth.

Shark2

I added the house and a bit of blood to make the shark look scarier. Here is my current final illustration. (THIS IS NOT THE FINAL PROJECT THOUGH) I will be creating a poster out of this.

Shark4

 

Leave a Reply

